Congratulations on your MBA degree! During the past two years, you may have become familiar with subjects such as finance and accounting, company laws, or other specialisations. You may also have developed an interest in professions you had never considered earlier, and gained insights into these areas based on the electives you took.

An overall management degree might not be enough for your field of choice, as it may not delve so deep into a particular area so as to do it justice. You may find that even after an MBA, you lack the knowledge and necessary expertise needed to pursue a livelihood in this newfound area of interest. What will be your next step in that scenario? There are several certification courses you can pursue after receiving your MBA degree that might help you be even more qualified for your chosen career.

“When it is clear that the targets cannot be achieved, don’t fix the goals, adjust the action steps. – Confucius

Certification Courses To Pursue After MBA

Here is a list of six financial courses one can pursue after the completion of an MBA degree.

1.Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)

The CFA program is an excellent choice for those interested in a profession in the finance field. It is a 3-degree course, viz. Level I, Level II and Level III. The certifications offered by CFA courses are recognised globally. However, keep in mind that you will need to have a few years of relevant full-time work experience in order to be considered for a CFA credential. You will also need to have a passport to apply, as it is a globally recognised qualification.

2. Financial Risk Manager (FRM) Exam

This test is for all those professionals looking to pursue a career in risk management, as the name implies. It is a professional certification issued by the Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP). While a CFA is broader in scope and involved in investments, an FRM’s work is focused on assessing and managing risk for organisations. There is a 2-part exam that has to be taken in order to be certified as an FRM, but even undergraduate students in their final year of graduation are eligible to take the FRM exam.

3. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA certification is an internationally recognised one given by Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). Designing and maintaining IT infrastructure for large organisations is a fast-growing area of work, with virtually every sector dependent on it. This certification helps you in creating the necessary ability and knowledge to succeed in this field. However, you will need at least five years of experience in the field of system audits to be eligible for a CISA certification.

4. Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA)

The CRMA class is meant for risk management professionals and internal auditors, and the certification is provided by the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). This test demands self-study and does not have a fixed program. The examinations are held at various IIA-authorized Pearson VUE testing centres worldwide, throughout the year. CRMA candidates must have an active CIA (Certified Internal Auditor) certification before applying for the exam.

5. APICS Certified in Production and Inventory Management

The CPIM credential provided by American Production and Inventory Control Society (APICS) is a certification program that is internationally recognised. As the coursework is available online, the test prep can be done at your convenience. APICS CPIM examinations cover five modules that must be finished within 10 years of taking the first test. You get 3 hours to finish each module during the test. Anybody who is interested in internal supply chain management can apply for this course, as there are no prerequisite eligibility requirements.

The modules are:

MODULE 1Basics of Supply Chain Management
MODULE 2Master Planning of Resources
MODULE 3Detailed Scheduling and Planning
MODULE 4Execution and Control of Operations
MODULE 5Strategic Management of Resources

6. Project Management Professional (PMP)

Project Management Professional (PMP) is an internationally recognised certification offered by the Project Management Institute, a nonprofit organisation. It offers various certifications, among which can be the PMP. The certification exam contains 200 multiple-choice questions, and you have four hours to complete it. There are some eligibility requirements that you must check before you apply for this course, but candidates who have successfully completed it report at least a 20% increase in their salary.

Consider these six courses if you feel like you need more theoretical expertise in the finance field after completing your MBA. All six certifications are internationally recognised in the finance field, and have led previous candidates to much more successful career trajectories and higher pay packages.


Talk to an expert?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.